

Twentieth Century Prime Ministers and their Governments

Parliamentary Information List

Standard Note: SN/PC/05650 Last updated: 25 March 2013

Author: Department of Information Services

This PIL notes Prime Ministers that have served in the United Kingdom since 1900 together with dates of office, general elections won and size of the government majority.

For more information, see Library Standard Note SN 04256, *Prime Ministers*, which lists Prime Ministers since 1721 and summarises the reasons behind each change in Prime Minister since 1900. It also gives the locations of Prime Ministerial papers, where known.

The Parliamentary Information List series covers various topics relating to Parliament; they include Bills, Committees, Constitution, Debates, Divisions, The House of Commons, Parliament and procedure.

Also available:

Research papers – impartial briefings on major bills and other topics of public and parliamentary concern, available as printed documents and on the Intranet and Internet.

Standard notes – a selection of less formal briefings, often produced in response to frequently asked questions, are accessible via the Internet.

Guides to Parliament – The House of Commons Information Office answers enquiries on the work, history and membership of the House of Commons. It also produces a range of publications about the House which are available for free in hard copy on request

Education web site – a web site for children and schools with information and activities about Parliament.

Any comments or corrections to the lists would be gratefully received and should be sent to: **Parliamentary Information Lists Editor**, Parliament & Constitution Centre, House of Commons, London SW1A OAA.

Prime Minister	Composition of Government	Dates Start	of office End	Days in office	General Elections won	Govt majority	Notes
Marquess of Salisbury	Conservative	25/06/1895 24/10/1900	24/10/1900 11/07/1902	1947 625	13/07/1895 24/10/1900	153 135	
Arthur James Balfour	Conservative	11/07/1902	05/12/1905	1243	Appointed		Salisbury resigns due to ill health; Balfour, serving as First Lord of the Treasury under Salisbury, appointed PM
Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman	Liberal	05/12/1905	03/04/1908	850	12/01/1906	129	Appointed PM by Royal Warrant 05/12/1905; Conservative majority of 135 at the time. Jan 1906 general election formally elected him
Henry Herbert Asquith	Liberal	04/04/1908	26/05/1915	2608	15/01/1910	None	Liberal 274; Conservative 272; Irish Nationalist 82; Labour 40; Others 2: Total 670*
					03/12/1910	None	Liberal 272; Conservative 271; Irish Nationalist 84; Labour 42; Others 1: Total 670*
Henry Herbert Asquith	Conservative coalition	26/05/1915	05/12/1916	559	Appointed		Asquith agrees to the formation of a coalition with the Conservatives
David Lloyd George	Coalition	07/12/1916	22/10/1922	2145	14/12/1918	283 (Coalition)	
Andrew Bonar Law	Conservative	23/10/1922	22/05/1923	211	15/11/1922	74	
Stanley Baldwin	Conservative	23/05/1923	22/01/1924	244	06/12/1923	None	Conservative 258; Labour 191; Liberal 158; Others 8: Total 615*
James Ramsay MacDonald	Labour	22/01/1924	04/11/1924	287	Appointed		After the Dec 1923 general election Labour and the Liberals together are strong enough to defeat the Conservative government. Following the King's Speech 15/01/1924 a Labour amendment to the Address is carried and MacDonald became PM on 22/01/1924
Stanley Baldwin	Conservative	04/11/1924	05/06/1929	1674	29/10/1924	210	
James Ramsay MacDonald	Labour	05/06/1929	24/08/1931	810	30/05/1929	None	Labour 287; Conservative 260; Liberal 59; Others 9: Total 615*
James Ramsay MacDonald	National Coalition	24/08/1931	07/06/1935	1383	27/10/1931	492	
Stanley Baldwin	National Coalition	07/06/1935	28/05/1937	721	14/11/1935	242	
Neville Chamberlain	National Coalition	28/05/1937	10/05/1940	1078	Appointed		Appointed when Baldwin resigned as PM
Winston Churchill	Coalition	10/05/1940	22/05/1945	1838	Appointed		Coalition government formed after the resignation of Chamberlain
Winston Churchill	Conservative Caretaker	22/05/1945	26/07/1945	65	Appointed		

Prime Minister	Composition of	Dates	of office	Days	General Elections won	Govt majority	Notes
Clement Attlee	Labour	26/07/1945 22/02/1950	22/02/1950 26/10/1951	1672 611	26/07/1945 23/02/1950	147 6	
Winston Churchill	Conservative	26/10/1951	07/04/1955	1259	25/10/1951	16	
Anthony Eden	Conservative	07/04/1955	10/01/1957	644	26/05/1955	59	
Harold Macmillan	Conservative	10/01/1957 08/10/1959	08/10/1959 18/10/1963	1001 1471	Appointed 08/10/1959	99	
Alec Douglas Home	Conservative	18/10/1963	16/10/1964	364	Appointed		Macmillan resigns for health reasons and Home is asked to form a government
Harold Wilson	Labour	16/10/1964 31/03/1966	31/03/1966 19/06/1970	531 1541	15/10/1964 31/03/1966	5 97	
Edward Heath	Conservative	19/06/1970	04/03/1974	1354	19/06/1970	31	
Harold Wilson	Labour	04/03/1974	10/10/1974	220	28/02/1974	None	Labour 301; Conservative 297; Liberal 14; Others 23: Total 635*
		10/10/1974	05/04/1976	543	10/10/1974	4	
James Callaghan	Labour	05/04/1976	04/05/1979	1124	Appointed		After Wilson's resignation Callaghan is elected leader of the Labour Party and hence PM
Margaret Thatcher	Conservative	04/05/1979 09/06/1983 11/06/1987	09/06/1983 11/06/1987 28/11/1990	1497 1463 1266	03/05/1979 09/06/1983 11/06/1987	44 144 101	
John Major	Conservative	28/11/1990 09/04/1992	09/04/1992 02/05/1997	498 1849	Appointed 09/04/1992	21	
Tony Blair	Labour	02/05/1997 07/06/2001 05/05/2005	07/06/2001 05/05/2005 27/06/2007	1497 1428 783	02/05/1997 07/06/2001 05/05/2005	178 166 65	
Gordon Brown	Labour	27/06/2007	11/05/2010	1049	Appointed		Brown becomes Labour leader, and hence PM, upon the resignation of Tony Blair
David Cameron	Conservative Lib Dem Coal	itior 11/05/2010			06/05/2010	77 (Coalition)	Conservative 307; Labour 258; Lib Dem 57; DUP 8; SNP 6; Others 14: Total 650*

[^] Majority at the general election, does not include the Speaker

Sources:

Dods Parliamentary Campanion 1979

Engelfield, Dermot et al, (1995), Facts About the British Prime Ministers, Mansell Publishing: London

Rallings and Thrasher, British Electoral Facts 1832-2006

HC Library Research Paper 05/53 General Election 2005

HC Library Research Paper 10/56 General Election 2010

^{*} includes the Speaker